About ppfc

The Poultry Protein & Fat Council grew out of leadership action by the poultry rendering industry. The initial group convened as the By-Products Committee to draft recommendations to the Southeastern Poultry & Egg Association board of directors (now U.S. Poultry & Egg Association).

Nineteen representatives of poultry rendering companies met in Atlanta, Ga., on Nov. 14, 1988, to evaluate the existing production and marketing of byproducts and to review research results from cattle feeding. They also discussed other needs of the rendering industry.

The highlight of that meeting was an "eye-opening" study on feather meal for beef cattle, with data showing protein value twice that of soybean meal. The implication was that feather meal would be equally as valuable for dairy cattle. The investment in this research has had a significant impact on the market. Whereas feathermeal traded at a discount, on an equal protein basis, to soybean meal, it now trades at a premium due to its superior nutritional value.

The renderers concluded that new market potentials should be developed and that feeding the products to poultry may not be the most profitable market.

The Poultry Protein & Fat Council was formed to guide the association in providing needed assistance. Renderers agreed that research was an urgent and vital need, and have funded $1.5 million in subsequent years on numerous topics. For more information about the Poultry Protein & Fat Council, e-mail Rafael Rivera

membership

The feather meal "advantage" for renderers is just one of the many pluses of membership in the Poultry Protein & Fat Council. The council sponsors educational seminars for members and provides speakers for meetings of potential buyers (such as cattle feeder groups, state feed associations, animal nutrition conferences, pet food associations, etc. The group also sponsors generic advertising in feed publications for renderer members, focusing on product values. In addition, the council is working to provide educational exhibits for customer trade shows.

The volume of rendered products continues to grow. The need for outlets for end-product is an obvious concern of renderers. Membership in the Poultry Protein & Fat Council gives a company a "front-row seat" as the beneficiary of valuable information in all areas of research, marketing, education, environmental concerns, and image enhancement If your company is interested in joining PPFC, email Rafael Rivera

Council Members

Chairman: Jonathan Green

E-mail: jonathan.green@amprot.com
American Proteins

Bo Watson

E-mail: bo.watson@tyson.com
Tyson Foods, Inc.

James Gilbert

E-mail: jgilbert@3dsolutions.com
3D Corporate Solutions, LLC

Rick Estes

E-mail: rickestes@fieldale.com
Fieldale Farms

Tim Guzek

E-mail: tim.guzek@sanimax.com
Sanimax

Kenny Reece

E-mail: kenny.reece@simfoods.com
Simmons Foods

Bud Kriz

E-mail: bkriz@valleyproteins.com
Valley Proteins, Inc.

Mike Hudlow

E-mail: mhudlow@darlingii.com
Darling Ingredients

Mark Glover

E-mail: Mark.Glover@pilgrims.com
Pilgrim's Corporation

Brad Allen

E-mail: ballen@fuillc.com
Central Bi-Products

Dennis Richmond

E-mail: dennis.richmond@fosterfarms.com
Foster Farms

Brian Schoeberl

E-mail: bschoeberl@mountaire.com
Mountaire Farms

Staff: Rafael Rivera

E-mail: rrivera@uspoultry.org
U.S. Poultry & Egg Association

Committees

Technology

Chairman: Dr. Ken Wilson

E-mail: ken.wilson@simfoods.com
Simmons Foods

BJ Bench

E-mail: BJ.Bench@tyson.com
Tyson Foods, Inc.

Bud Kriz

E-mail: bkriz@valleyproteins.com
Valley Proteins, Inc.

Ansen Pond

E-mail: Ansen.Pond@pilgrims.com
Pilgrim's Corporation

Jacob Swann

E-mail: jacob.swann@amprot.com
American Proteins

Michael Hudlow

E-mail: mhudlow@darlingii.com
Darling Ingredients

Ex-Officio: Jonathan Green

E-mail: jonathan.green@amprot.com
American Proteins

Advertising

Chairman: Chuck Malone

E-mail: chuck.malone@tyson.com
Tyson Foods, Inc.

Greg Drollinger

E-mail: greg@3dcorpsol.com
3D Corporate Solutions

Kiah Gardner

E-mail: Kiah.Gardner@tyson.com
Tyson Foods, Inc.

Stan Gudenkauf

E-mail: stan.gudenkauf@amprot.com
American Proteins

Joshua Hatfield

E-mail: joshua.hatfield@pilgrims.com
Pilgrim's Corporation

Michael Hudlow

E-mail: mhudlow@darlingii.com
Darling Ingredients

Dennis Richmond

E-mail: dennis.richmond@fosterfarms.com
Foster Farms

Brad Johnston

E-mail: brad.johnston@simfoods.com
Simmons Foods

Ex-Officio: Jonathan Green

E-mail: jonathan.green@amprot.com
American Proteins